Awards Ceremony

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, January 24, 2018


The New England Water Environment Association (NEWEA), through its Awards Committee, has completed the year long process of nomination, selection and promotion of the 2016 slate of awards recipients.

These Awards recognize “the best of the best” of water quality professionals from within the 2,000-member NEWEA organization, plus additional “stars” from the Public Education, Journalism, Educational Institution, and Municipal Utility/Public Works community. Visit our awards program to learn more about the range of awards we present.

As always, the Awards Program will also include outstanding performance awards given by the US EPA New England Region.

The event is scheduled for Wednesday, January 24, 2018 from 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM (tickets required). Attendance is limited and is known to “sell out”.
Reserve your ticket today.


Stockholm Junior Water Prize
Luca Barcelo, CT
Mei Tian, ME
Sangwon Cha, MA
Meghana Avvaru, NH
Nicolas Berg, RI
Aida Arms, VT

Student Scholarships


Alfred E. Peloquin Award
Jay Sheehan, CT
Phyllis Arnold Rand, ME
James Legg, MA
Kenneth Kessler, NH
Edward Davies, RI
John Lazelle, VT

Asset Management Award
City of Portland, ME

Biosolids Management Award
Shelagh Connelly

Clair N. Sawyer Award
Annalisa Onnis Hayden

Committee Service Award
Donald St. Marie

E. Sherman Chase Award
Jeff Kalmes

Elizabeth A. Cutone Executive Leadership Award
Julia Forgue

Energy Management Achievement Award
Village of Essex Junction WWTF

Founders Award
New Hampshire Water Pollution Control Association

James J. Courchaine Collection Systems Award
George Kathios

Operator Award
David Geng, CT
Annaleis Hafford, ME
Scott Skelley, MA
Michael Carle, NH
Christopher Petrone, RI
John Alexander, VT

Operator Safety Award
Richard Gould

Past President’s Plaque and Pin
Raymond Willis, MA

Paul Keough Award
John Howell

Public Educator Award
Zeb Arruda

Wastewater Utility Award
Waterbury, CT WPC

Young Professional Award
Michael Guethle


Arthur Sidney Bedell Award
Susan Guswa

George W. Burke, Jr. Award
Sturbridge, MA WPCF

Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award
Danielle Morrison

Quarter Century Operators’ Club
Raymond Drew
Brendan O’Regan
Timothy Levasseur

William D. Hatfield Award
Raymond Vermette

WEF Fellows*

Paul Dombrowski
April Gu

WEF Service Award*
John Trofatter
George Vercelli

WEF Life Membership
Frank Arnold
Robert Dangel
Paul Gormsen
Robert Hill
Francis Hopcroft
John Jackman
Bruce Pierstorff
Leo Potter
Anthony Tawa, Jr.
Kevin Wholley

WEF Service/Delegate Award*
Daniel Bisson, ME

*Presented at WEFTEC 2017