Awards Ceremony

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, January 30, 2019


The New England Water Environment Association (NEWEA), through its Awards Committee, has completed the year long process of nomination, selection and promotion of the 2018 slate of awards recipients.

These Awards recognize “the best of the best” of water quality professionals from within the 2,000-member NEWEA organization, plus additional “stars” from the Public Education, Journalism, Educational Institution, and Municipal Utility/Public Works community. Visit our awards program to learn more about the range of awards we present.

As always, the Awards Program will also include outstanding performance awards given by the US EPA New England Region.

The event is scheduled for Wednesday, January 30, 2019 from 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM (tickets required). Attendance is limited and is known to “sell out”.

Reserve your ticket today.


Stockholm Junior Water Prize
Verna Yin, Cos Cob, CT
Mei Tian, Bangor, ME
Elise Mizerak, Holden, MA
Meghana Avvaru, Nashua, NH
Margaret O’Brien, Bristol, RI
Sunthoshini Premsankar, Williston, VT

Scholarship Recipients 2018-2019
William Adsit, Undergraduate Student
Astha Thakali, Graduate Student
Ashley Loto, Non-Environmental Student


Alfred E. Peloquin Award
Michael Bisi, Glastonbury, CT
Andre Brousseau, Springvale, ME
David Duest, Winthrop, MA
John Adie, Concord, NH
Michael Spring, Providence, RI
Wayne Elliott, Essex Junction, VT

Asset Management Award
Plymouth, NH Village Water & Sewer District

Biosolids Management Award
James Taylor and the Merrimack, NH Biosolids Composting Team

Clair N. Sawyer Award
William Patenaude, Providence, RI

Committee Service Award
Joy Lord, Lisbon Falls, ME

E. Sherman Chase Award
John Vetere, Boston, MA

Elizabeth A. Cutone Executive Leadership Award
Alan Taubert, Salem, MA

Energy Management Achievement Award
Town of Fairfield, CT

Founders Award
Douglas Miller, Cape Elizabeth, ME

James J. Courchaine Collection Systems Award
Angelo Salamone, Chelsea, MA

Operator Award
John Bodie, Fairfield, CT
Stacy Thompson, South Portland, ME
Robert Delgado, Barnstable, MA
Leo Gaudette, Nashua, NH
Charles Labbe, Warwick, RI
Wayne Graham, Essex Junction, VT

Operator Safety Award
David Aucoin, Providence, RI

Past President’s Plaque and Pin
James Barsanti, Framingham, MA

Paul Keough Award
Andrew Bramante, Greenwich, CT

Public Educator Award
Christian Lund, Groton, CT

Wastewater Utility Award
York, ME Sewer District

Young Professional Award
Allison Fisher, Portland, ME


Arthur Sidney Bedell Award
Howard Carter, Saco, ME

George W. Burke, Jr. Award
UCONN Reclaimed Water Facility

Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award
Stephanie Rochefort, Somersworth, NH

Operations Challenge Competition – Div II Process Control
Franken Foggers, New Haven, CT

Operations Challenge Competition – Div II Process Control and Lab
Ocean State Alliance, Providence, RI

William D. Hatfield Award
Francis Russo, Meriden, CT

WEF Fellows*
James Courchaine, Avondale, AZ

WEF Student Design Competition*
Sabrina Castaneda, Somerville, MA

WEF Life Membership
John Struzziery, Hull, MA

WEF Service Award*
Susan Sullivan, Lowell, MA

*Presented at WEFTEC 2018