Awards Ceremony

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, January 25, 2023


The New England Water Environment Association (NEWEA), through its Awards Committee, has completed the year long process of nomination, selection and promotion of the 2022 slate of awards recipients.

These Awards recognize “the best of the best” of water quality professionals from within the 2,000-member NEWEA organization, plus additional “stars” from the Public Education, Journalism, Educational Institution, and Municipal Utility/Public Works community. Visit our awards program to learn more about the range of awards we present.

As always, the Awards Program will also include outstanding performance awards given by the US EPA New England Region.

The event is scheduled for Wednesday, January 25, 2023 from 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM (tickets required). Attendance is limited and is known to “sell out”.

Reserve your ticket today.


Stockholm Junior Water Prize
Elizabeth Wallace, Greenwich, CT
Ginny Hunt, Bangor, ME
Maxim Attiogbe, Worcester, MA
Abhinav Avvaru, Nashua, NH
Hiba Ali, South Burlington, VT

NEWEA Scholarship Recipients 2021-2022
Courteney Hales, University of Vermont, Undergraduate Student
Kathryne Lovell, University of Massachusetts, Undergraduate Student
Shawn Shay University of Connecticut, Undergraduate Student

NEWEA Kate Biedron Memorial Scholarship Recipient 2021-2022
Ella Quinn, University of Massachusetts


Alfred E. Peloquin Award
Sally Keating, Hartford, CT
Paula Drouin, Lewiston, ME
Jennifer Lichtensteiger, Lowell, MA
Michael Trainque, Manchester, NH
Kathy Perez, South Kingstown, RI
Richard Kenney, Hartford, VT

Asset Management Award
City of Dover WWTF, Dover, NH

Biosolids Management Award
James Jutras, Village of Essex Junction, VT

Clair N. Sawyer Award
Laurie Perkins, Manchester, NH

Committee Service Award
Dede Vittori, Newton, MA

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Leadership Award
Oluwole “OJ” McFoy, Buffalo, NY

E. Sherman Chase Award
Michael Williams, Holyoke, MA

Elizabeth A. Cutone Executive Leadership Award
Susan Sullivan, Lowell, MA

Energy Management Achievement Award
Jason Turgeon, Boston, MA

Energy Management Achievement Award
Jennifer Muir, Durham, CT

Founders Award
Meg Tabacsko, Chelsea, MA

James J. Courchaine Collection Systems Award
Louis Mammolette, Chelsea, MA

Operator Award
Gregory Quink, Waterbury, CT
Theresa Tucker, York, ME
Ashley Demarey, Agawam, MA
Dan Driscoll, Concord, NH
Scott Goodinson, Narragansett, RI
Robert Protivansky, Rutland, VT

Past President’s Plaque and Pin
Jennifer Kelly Lachmayr, Wakefield, MA

Paul Keough Award
Alex Kuffner, Providence, RI

Youth Educator Award
Adriana Cillo, Boston, MA

Young Professional Award
Colin O’Brien, Petersham, MA


Arthur Sidney Bedell Award
Amy Anderson George, Cumberland, RI

Laboratory Analyst Excellence Award
Michelle Gaudette, Nashua, NH

Operations Challenge Competition – Div II 2nd Place*
RI-CONN United

William D. Hatfield Award
Cheri Cousens, North Andover, MA

Quarter Century Operators’ Club*
Carl Veilleux, Enfield, CT
Timothy Haskell, York Beach, ME
Peter Connell, Cranston, RI

WEF Operator Scholarship*
Riley Cobb, Saco, ME

WEF Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award*
Vanessa Borkowski, Hartford, CT

George W. Burke, Jr Award
Woodard & Curran, North Haven, CT WWTF

WEF Student Design Competition*
Jeffery Ling, Aidan Travers, Taylor Labbe, Emily Eastman— Northeastern University, Boston, MA

WEF Fellow*
Kristin Morico, Hamden, CT
Erin Mosley, New Orleans, LA

WEF Project Excellence Award
Peirce Island Wastewater Treatment Facility Upgrade Portsmouth, NH

WEF Service Delegate-at-Large Award
Susan Sullivan, Lowell, MA

WEF Service Delegate Award
Susan Guswa, Northampton, MA

*Presented at WEFTEC 2021

US EPA – Region 1 New England Award

Wastewater Treatment Plant O&M Excellence Award
Stonington Sanitary District, Stonington, Maine
Gay Atkinson, II, Sanitary District Operator
Exeter Wastewater Treatment Plant, Exeter, New Hampshire
Steve Dalton, Wastewater Superintendent

Wastewater Treatment Plant Operator of the Year Excellence Award
Jeff Lemay, South Windsor, Connecticut
Brian Sullivan, Colebrook, New Hampshire
Louise Grant, Paris, Maine

Wastewater Trainer of the Year
Ryan Peebles, Clean Waters Inc.

Industrial Pretreatment Program of the Year
City of Brockton, Massachusetts
Sherry Caldiera, Industrial Pretreatment Coordinator
Town of Milford, New Hampshire
Jim Pouliot, Director